Assign modules on offcanvas module position to make them visible in the sidebar.

Main Menu

  • DirectionShoranur, Palakkad - 679 122 Kerala, India
  • Phone+91 466 2220294, 2221456

M.P.Moothedath Memorial Sree Narayana Trusts College, Shoranur

Palakkad, Kerala - 679122

Affiliated to the University of Calicut

NAAC Re-acredited (II Cycle) as 'B' Grade (2015)


It was the long felt need of the Municipal Town of Shoranur to have a full fledged college to meet the rising demand for greater facilities of higher education. This town with a population of over 50,000 people has in it one of the most important junction of the Southern Railways. The proximity of Kerala Kalamandalam gives the place a position in the cultural map of India. The number of Higher Secondary Schools in and around Shoranur with considerable feeding potential strengthened the claim for starting the college.

The initiative and enthusiasm of the “Sree Narayana Seva Sangam”, Shoranur made it a reality. The Sree Narayana Trusts, Quilon, with its record of pioneering activities in the field of higher education in the state stepped in at the right time and undertook the glorious venture of starting a college here. The organisers of the college thought it proper to name the college after Late Sri. M.P. Moothedath, who was a leading philanthropist of Kerala and a disciple of Sree Narayana Guru. The installation of the marble statue of Sree Narayana Guru at Sivagiri was one of his signal accomplishments in a life of service and dedication.

A Local Advisory Committee was constituted by the Sree Narayana Trusts, Quilon for the working of the college. The Kavalappara Kottaram which is situated 1 km., from the 26th mile point of the Palakkad-Shoranur road was taken on rent to house the college. Affiliation was obtained to start Pre- Degree Course in Groups II and IV and the college was formally inaugurated by Sri. E.K. Nayanar, the then Chief Minister of Kerala on 3-10-81 at a meeting presided over by Late Sri. P.S. Karthikeyan, the Gen. Secretary of S.N. Trusts. Prof. M.G. Kesavan was the first Principal of the College.

The next phase of its growth was marked when the S.N. Trusts acquired 10 acres of land in Kulappully to construct the building. The foundation stone was laid by Late. Sri. M.K. Raghavan, Secretary, S.N. Trusts on 16th September, 1987. The building was opened by Sri. K.R. Narayanan, the Union Minister for Science and Technology on 2nd October, 1989. The former S.N. Trust Chairman, Sri. M.A. Unnirikkutty, presided over the function. The meeting, was inaugurated by Sri. V.V. Raghavan, the Hon. Minister for Agriculture. Swami Saswathikananda blessed the occasion.

The long cherished dream of upgrading the college was fulfilled in October 1991, when B.Sc. Course in Physics was sanctioned. Dr. T.K. Ravindran, former Vice Chancellor of the Calicut University inaugurated the upgradation of the college on 4th November 1991 and Late Sri. M.K. Raghavan, former Manager, Sree Narayana Colleges presided over the function. B.Com., BBA and B.Sc. Polymer Chemistry Degree Courses were started in the year 1993-94, 95-96 and 98-99 respectively. The B.A. Functional English Course was started in 2001-2002. The commencement of the M.Com. Course in 1999-2000 has given the college a post graduate status. Added to this list is the starting of the M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry Course in 2002-2003., M.Sc. Physics and M.A. English Literature in 2006 - 2007. M.Sc. Mathematics and B.A. Economics were started during 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 respectively.

This college has been included in the list of colleges under 2(f) and 12 (B) of the UGC Act 1956 in June 2003.

In the NAAC reaccreditation process during 2014-15 our college has secured B grade with 2.7 Grade points.

Aim of the College

The college stands for academic excellence and character formation with an emphasis on human values and scientific temper. The institution looks upon education as an instrument of socio-economic progress, material advancement, political development and moral and ethical development for individuals in the society.

The aim of the college is to train the youth to fit them properly into the modern age of science and technology and be of use to the society and humanity at large. It also aims at eradicating from their minds all traces of provincialism, communalism and sectarianism and above all to make them worthy disciples of Sree Narayana Guru and living embodiments of his ideals.

Succession list of Principals

1.   Prof. M.G. Kesavan   17-09-81 to 05-01-82
2.   Dr. S. Balaraman   06-01-82 to 02-03-83
3.   Prof. M. Balakrishna Variar (in-charge)   03-03-83 to 26-06-83
4.   Prof. L. Suresh Babu   27-06-83 to 01-02-88
5.   Prof. M. Balakrishna Variar (in-charge)   02-02-88 to 31-03-88
6.   Prof. P. Krishnan Kutty (in-charge)   01-04-88 to 24-05-89
7.   Prof. M.S. Presanna   25-05-89 to 08-05-91
8.   Prof. P. Krishnan Kutty   09-05-91 to 31-03-93
9.   Prof. A.G. Jayasree   01-04-93 to 07-06-95
10.   Prof. N.A. Das   08-06-95 to 05-06-96
11.   Dr. P. Sudhakumari   06-06-96 to 31-03-99
12.   Prof. K.U. Arunan   19-04-99 to 24-05-01
13.   Prof. B. Vijayalal   25-05-01 to 02-06-03
14.   Prof. V.S. Lee   02-06-03 to 28-05-04
15.   Dr. C. Viswanathan   28-05-04 to 20-06-05
16.   Dr. N. Viswarajan   20-06-05 to 05-05-06
17.   Prof. K. M. Suprabha   05-05-06 to 16-05-08
18.   Dr. Sumanarayanan   16-05-08 to 10-11-08
19.   Prof. K. Suguna (in-charge)   11-11-08 to 02-12-08
20.   Prof. P. A. Pathima Beevi (in-charge)   03-12-08 to 14-05-09
21.   Prof. P. K. Jaganathan   14-05-09 to 25-05-10
22.   Dr. K. M. Suprabha   25-05-10 to 08-11-12
23.   Dr. A. Suresh (in-charge)   09-11-12 to 08-05-13
24.   Dr. R. Raveendran   09-05-13 to 23-10-14
25.   Dr. S. Y. Ganga   30-10-14 to 31-03-18