About Institution

It was the long felt need of the Municipal Town of Shoranur to have a full fledged college to meet the rising demand for greater facilities of higher education. This town with a population of over 50,000 people has in it one of the most important junction of the Southern Railways. The proximity of Kerala Kalamandalam gives the place a position in the cultural map of India.The number of Higher Secondary Schools in and around Shoranur with considerable feeding potential strengthened the claim for starting the college.

The initiative and enthusiasm of the “Sree Narayana Seva Sangam”, Shoranur made it a reality. The Sree Narayana Trusts, Quilon, with its record of pioneering activities in the field of higher education in the state stepped in at the right time and undertook the glorious venture of starting a college here. The organisers of the college thought it proper to name the college after Late
Sri. M.P. Moothedath, who was a leading philanthropist of Kerala and a disciple of Sree Narayana Guru. The installation of the marble statue of Sree Narayana Guru at Sivagiri was one of his signal accomplishments in a life of service and dedication.

A Local Advisory Committee was constituted by the Sree Narayana Trusts, Quilon for the working of the college. The Kavalappara Kottaram which is situated 1 km., from the 26th mile point of the Palakkad-Shoranur road was taken on rent to house the college. Affiliation was obtained to start PreDegree Course in Groups II and IV and the college was formally inaugurated by Sri. E.K. Nayanar, the then Chief Minister of Kerala on 3-10-81 at a meeting presided over by Late Sri. P.S. Karthikeyan, the Gen. Secretary of S.N. Trusts. Prof. M.G. Kesavan was the first Principal of the College.

The next phase of its growth was marked when the S.N. Trusts acquired 10 acres of land in Kulappully to construct the building. The foundation stone was laid by Late. Sri. M.K. Raghavan, Secretary, S.N. Trusts on 16th September, 1987. The building was opened by Sri. K.R. Narayanan, the Union Minister for Science and Technology on 2nd October, 1989. The former S.N. Trust Chairman, Sri. M.A. Unnirikkutty, presided over the function. The meeting, was inaugurated by Sri. V.V. Raghavan, the Hon.
Minister for Agriculture. Swami Saswathikananda blessed the occasion.

The long cherished dream of upgrading the college was fulfilled in October 1991, when B.Sc. Course in Physics was sanctioned. Dr. T.K. Ravindran, former Vice Chancellor of the Calicut University inaugurated the upgradation of the college on 4th November 1991 and Late Sri. M.K. Raghavan, former Manager, Sree Narayana Colleges presided over the function. B.Com., BBA and B.Sc. Polymer Chemistry Degree Courses were started in the year 1993-94, 95-96 and 98-99 respectively. The B.A. Functional English Course was started in 2001-2002. The commencement of the M.Com. Course in 1999-2000 has given the college a post graduate status. Added to this list is the starting of the M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry Course in 2002-2003., M.Sc. Physics and M.A. English Literature in 2006 – 2007. M.Sc. Mathematics and
B.A. Economics were started during 2013-2014 and 2014-2015, M.Sc Applied Geology was started in 2020-21 respectively.

This college has been included in the list of colleges under 2(f) and 12 (B) of the UGC Act 1956 in June 2003. In the NAAC reaccreditation process during 2014-15 our college has secured B grade with 2.7 Grade points. In the NAAC reaccreditation process during 2022-23 our college has secured A grade with 3.09 Grade points in 3rd the 3 Cycle

About College